Understanding Drug Charges In Oklahoma
Criminal charges related to drug crimes can result in serious penalties. If you are charged with a drug crime, you should learn more about the differences between drug charges and the potential penalties.
Types of Drug Charges in Oklahoma City
In Oklahoma, you can be charged for many drug-related offenses. Drug possession is one of the most common charges, but there’s also drug distribution, drug trafficking, drug manufacturing, intent to distribute, driving under the influence, and more. Because there are so many charges, it can be easier than you think to get charged with a drug offense without knowing you’re doing something illegal.
Not only are there different types of drug charges depending on the illegal activities taking place, but the charges will vary depending on what type of drug is involved, how much of the drug is involved, and whether this is your first, second, or third offense.
Controlled dangerous substances (CDSs) are categorized by Schedule I, II, III, IV, and V drugs. Schedule I drugs include LSD, MDMA, heroin, and hallucinogenic drugs. Schedule II drugs include hydrocodone, oxycodone, cocaine, amphetamines, and PCP. Marijuana is a Schedule I drug but is penalized less severely with other lesser drugs in the Schedule III, IV, and V categories.
Oklahoma Drug Crime Penalties
Unlike most states, which separate criminal charges into a class system based on severity, Oklahoma simply has misdemeanors and felonies, with a variety of penalties relating to each specific offense. For example, if you’re charged with first-offense Schedule I drug possession, you’ll be charged with a felony and can spend up to five years in prison and pay up to $5,000 in fines.
Second offenses for the same crime can increase the penalties exponentially. If you’re caught with a second Schedule I drug possession, you can spend between four and fifteen years in prison and pay up to $10,000 in fines.
Other drug penalties in Oklahoma include:
- First-Time Marijuana Possession – A misdemeanor, with one year of jail time and up to a $1,000 fine
- First-Time Possession with Intent to Sell a Schedule I or II Drug – A felony, with two years to life and up to a $20,000 fine
- First-Time Manufacturing of a Schedule I or II Drug – A felony, with seven years to life and up to a $100,000 fine
Get Immediate Help Now
If you are charged with a drug crime, you need to contact an attorney as soon as possible. You can contact Talley, Turner, Stice & Bertman by calling 405-467-2858 or by sending us an email.