Oklahoma courts charge simple drug possession as a misdemeanor offense. However, certain substances result in felony charges.
If you face a court date for a drug-related charge in Oklahoma, review the possible penalties of a conviction.
Felony drug offenses
Possession of drugs categorized in Schedule I and Schedule II is a felony in Oklahoma, with the exception of cannabis. If you receive a conviction with no prior offenses, you could receive a prison sentence of at least two and up to 10 years. This conviction also carries a fine of up to $5,000. The state doubles these penalties for a second offense.
Examples of Schedule and Schedule II controlled substances include:
- Oxycodone and other prescription opiates
Misdemeanor drug offenses
You can receive misdemeanor charges for possession of drugs in Schedule III, IV or V. Penalties include up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Examples of substances that result in misdemeanor drug possession in Oklahoma include:
- Anabolic steroids
- Tylenol or cough syrup with codeine
- Prescription narcotics
In addition to these penalties, Oklahoma may double fines and impose longer prison terms for subsequent or enhanced offenses. Examples of enhanced offenses include using a minor to help transport controlled substances, possession in the presence of a child younger than 12, possession within 1,000 feet of a school zone and distribution within 2,000 feet of a school zone.
Some offenders may qualify for probation. The court may require these individuals to attend a substance abuse rehabilitation program.