While cannabis (also known as marijuana) is illegal at the federal level, many U.S. states have decriminalized the substance for recreational use. But some states still restrict cannabis to medical use only.
Oklahoma is one such state. On top of laws restricting cannabis to medical applications, the state also requires patients using the substance to apply for a medical marijuana adult patient license. The license allows the holder to legally purchase, use and even grow cannabis for their medication and is valid for two years. There’s also a short-term license that’s good for 60 days.
But what happens if you try to purchase medical marijuana with an expired license?
If a medical marijuana dispensary sees your expired license, they might inform you that your license is no longer valid and that you’re prohibited from purchasing. But if you still manage to acquire medical marijuana despite your invalid license, you could get into trouble with the law.
Possession without a valid license is a crime
Law enforcement officers might require you to present your license to prove you’re cleared to use and possess medical marijuana. If they find that your license expired and you have medical marijuana on you as a person, officers can charge you with possession. If you’re convicted, your offense will be logged as a misdemeanor on your criminal record. You also must pay a maximum fine of $1,000 and serve up to a year in prison.
For a subsequent offense, you’ll face another fine of up to $1,000 and a year of jail time.
Medical marijuana may be legal in Oklahoma, but the state is very particular about how and who can use the substance. Keep these state rules in mind and always ensure your license is valid before purchasing.